Skip to content Skip to footer

The Barbara E. Northup Excellence in Community Involvement Award

History of the Barbara E. Northup Excellence in Community Involvement Award

This Arkansas Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (ARID) award honors an interpreter who demonstrates outstanding community involvement in the Deaf and/or Deafblind Communities of Arkansas.

Contributions to the Community

The Barbara E. Northup Excellence in Community Involvement Award was initiated by the ARID Board of Directors BD Motion 12.28 on September 7, 2012 and approved by the membership as a memorial to Barbara E. Northup, a commended and dedicated member of ARID and forever cherished member of the Deaf Communities of Arkansas. The first award was presented at the 2013 ARID Biennial Conference.

The recipient will be presented with the award at the upcoming ARID Biennial Conference. Costs for the award and engraving will be deducted from ARID Board funds.

Nominations Review Committee

The Nominations Review Committee will consist of the current ARID Board of Directors in a biennial year.

Nominee Requirements

A nominee must be nominated by another member of ARID. The nominee must be an active member of ARID in a voting or associate status and must have completed three years of membership in ARID, including the biennial year in which the nominee is nominated. Members of the Nominations Review Committee cannot submit a nomination.


Nominations must be made in writing on an official form (attached) and submitted no later than May 31 in a given biennial year. Any late submissions will not be accepted.

Nominations must be submitted to the ARID Board of Directors at

Nomination Narratives

Written nominations should contain narratives that address specifics about the nominee. They should include examples of how the nominee has contributed to the Deaf Communities of Arkansas and the traits of the nominee.

Past Recipients

  • 2013 – Katie Becker
  • 2015 – Debbie Pearce
  • 2017 – Carolyn Jolley
  • 2019 – Jami Hollingsworth
  • 2021 – Chrystal Honorable
  • 2023 – Ashley Beaty

Nominations Application